Rhode Island e-bike and e-trike laws
Rhode Island's e-bike law only covers two-wheelers, so an electric trike counts as a 'motorized tricycle'. That means a driver's license, age 16 or older, and DMV registration (plan on insurance too), and no interstates. Two-wheel e-bikes need no license or registration. On state bike paths only Class 1 two-wheel e-bikes are allowed, so check with RI DEM before taking an e-trike on a state path.
- For e-trikes
- To ride a motorized tricycle (which is how RI law classes an e-trike) on a public road you need a valid driver's license and must be at least 16.
- For e-trikes
- Motorized tricycles must be registered with the DMV, even if ridden only on private property.
- For e-trikes
- Motorized tricycles may not be ridden on interstate highways.
- For e-trikes
- In state parks and management areas, motor vehicles (which includes motorized tricycles) must be street-registered, driven by a licensed driver, and kept to designated areas.
- Rules below
- Apply to e-bikes as Rhode Island defines them, which leaves trikes out. The rows above say what applies to a trike instead.
- License
- To ride a motorized tricycle (which is how RI law classes an e-trike) on a public road you need a valid driver's license and must be at least 16. (motorized tricycle)
- Registration
- Two-wheel electric bicycles (Class 1/2/3) need no registration, and they are not motor vehicles, so no driver's license is required.
- Helmet
- E-bike riders and passengers under 21 must wear a CPSC-standard helmet; there is no helmet requirement for adults 21 and over.
- Minimum age
- No one under 16 may operate an electric bicycle (any class) in Rhode Island.
- Where you can ride
- E-bike riders have the same rights and duties as other drivers on the road, and may ride on road shoulders except where bicycles are prohibited.
- Sidewalks
- State law allows human-powered vehicles on sidewalks unless signs prohibit them, but it does not mention e-bikes, and e-bikes are expressly banned from sidewalks and crosswalks in New Shoreham (Block Island).
Does an e-trike count as an e-bike?
““Electric motorized bicycle”, also called an “electric bicycle”, as defined in § 31-19.7-1, means a two-wheel (2) vehicle that may be propelled by human power or electric motor power”R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-1-3(g) ↗
The e-bike classes
How the trikes we list are treated in Rhode Island
None of the 191 trikes we list is an e-bike under Rhode Island's e-bike law, because it leaves trikes out. The rules above for e-trikes apply to all of them. Not legal advice.
How the e-bikes we list are treated in Rhode Island
200 of the 268 two-wheel e-bikes we list fit Rhode Island's e-bike rules on their published figures. 40 need checking before you buy, and 28 don't publish enough to tell. Not legal advice.
- Ariel Rider Grizzly 72VCheck before buying3000W motor is over the 750W limit; 60 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Ariel Rider Grizzly 72V
- Ariel Rider MUDD 72VCheck before buying3500W motor is over the 750W limit; 65 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Ariel Rider MUDD 72V
- Ariel Rider X-Class 60V PPBCheck before buying1500W motor is over the 750W limit; 40 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Ariel Rider X-Class 60V PPB
- Aventon Pace 5 RECCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Aventon Pace 5 REC
- Heybike ALPHACheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Heybike ALPHA
- Heybike Mars 3.0Check before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Heybike Mars 3.0
- Heybike Saturn Dual BatteryCheck before buying1000W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Heybike Saturn Dual Battery
- Heybike Saturn Single BatteryCheck before buying1000W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Heybike Saturn Single Battery
- Himiway D7Check before buying1000W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Himiway D7
- Himiway D7 ProCheck before buying1000W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Himiway D7 Pro
- Jasion Hunter ProCheck before buying30 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion Hunter Pro
- Jasion KagoCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Jasion Kago
- Jasion RetroVolt MaxCheck before buying35 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion RetroVolt Max
- Jasion RetroVolt ProCheck before buying38 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion RetroVolt Pro
- Jasion Thunder Pro STCheck before buying35 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion Thunder Pro ST
- Jasion X-HunterCheck before buying30 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion X-Hunter
- Mokwheel Asphalt Step-OverCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Asphalt Step-Over
- Mokwheel Asphalt Step-ThroughCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Asphalt Step-Through
- Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-OverCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Over
- Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Through, LargeCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Through, Large
- Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Through, StandardCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Through, Standard
- Mokwheel ObsidianCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Obsidian
- Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 Step-OverCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 Step-Over
- Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 Step-ThroughCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 Step-Through
- Mokwheel Onyx Step-OverCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Onyx Step-Over
- Mokwheel Onyx Step-ThroughCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Onyx Step-Through
- Mokwheel Scoria 2.0Check before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Scoria 2.0
- Mokwheel SlateCheck before buying25 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Slate
- Mokwheel Tarmac Step-OverCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Tarmac Step-Over
- Mokwheel Tarmac Step-ThroughCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Tarmac Step-Through
- Mokwheel Tor PlusCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Tor Plus
- Puckipuppy GoldenR ProCheck before buying1100W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Puckipuppy GoldenR Pro
- Rad Power Bikes Radster Road LargeCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes Radster Road Large
- Rad Power Bikes Radster Road RegularCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes Radster Road Regular
- Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail LargeCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail Large
- Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail RegularCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail Regular
- Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 5Check before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 5
- Ride1Up Revv1 DRTCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Ride1Up Revv1 DRT
- Ride1Up Revv1 FSCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Ride1Up Revv1 FS
- Ride1Up Revv1 HTCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Ride1Up Revv1 HT
Show the 200 that fit the rules
- Amflow PL Carbon (800Wh) · E-bike (class not stated), 19.9 mph
- Amflow PL Carbon Pro (800Wh) · E-bike (class not stated), 19.9 mph
- Amflow PR Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 19.9 mph
- Amflow PR Carbon Pro · E-bike (class not stated), 19.9 mph
- Amflow PX Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Amflow PX Carbon Pro · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Amflow TL Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Ariel Rider Kepler High-Step · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Ariel Rider Kepler Step-Thru · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Ariel Rider X-Class 60V Off-Road · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Ariel Rider X-Class 60V Performance · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Aventon Abound LR · Class 2 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Abound SR · Class 2 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Aventure 3 Step-Over · Class 2 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Aventure 3 Step-Through · Class 2 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Aventure M · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Current ADV · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, Within the published limits
- Aventon Current EXP · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, Within the published limits
- Aventon Level 4 ADV Step-Over · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Aventon Level 4 ADV Step-Through · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Aventon Level 4 REC Step-Over · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Level 4 REC Step-Through · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Ramblas ADV · Class 1 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Soltera 2.5 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Aventon Soltera 3 ADV · Class 1 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Heybike Hybrid · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Heybike Mars 2.5 · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Heybike Ranger S 2.0 · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Heybike Titan Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Heybike Titan Single Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Heybike Venus · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Himiway A7 Large · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway A7 Regular · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway D5 2.0 20" · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway D5 2.0 26" High-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway D5 2.0 26" ST · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway D5 2.0 Camo · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway D5 Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP Lite2 · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP Lite2 JW Black Belt Drive · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP Lite2 JW Black Belt Drive Long-Range · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP4 750 Step-Over · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XP4 750 Step-Thru · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XP4 Step-Over · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XP4 Step-Thru · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPeak2 High-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPeak2 High-Step Long-Range · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru Long-Range · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPedition2 Dual-Battery · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPedition2 Long-Range Dual-Battery · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPedition2 Single Battery · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPress2 High-Step (Commuter) · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPress2 Step-Thru (Cruiser) · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Macfox X1S · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X1S Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X2 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X2 Pro Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X7 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X7 Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X7 L · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X7 L Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Mokwheel Flint Pro Step-Over · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Flint Pro Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Flint Step-Over · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Flint Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Pedego Avenue Core · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Avenue Pro · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Boomerang Core · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Boomerang Pro · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Element 2 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Element Core · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Element Pro · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Elevate · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Pedego Interceptor · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Interceptor Platinum Edition · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Latch · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Latch 2 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Ridge Rider 2 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Trail Tracker · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Puckipuppy Boxer ST (step-through) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Puckipuppy Boxer Step-over · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Puckipuppy Labrador Pro ST (step-through) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Puckipuppy Labrador Pro Step-over · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Puckipuppy Poodle · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Puckipuppy Samoyed · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Puckipuppy Schnauzer · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Rad Power Bikes RadExpand 5 Plus · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Rad Power Bikes RadRunner · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Rad Power Bikes RadRunner Max · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Rad Power Bikes RadRunner Plus · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Rad Power Bikes RadWagon · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Ride1Up CF Racer1 · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Portola 02 10Ah · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Portola 02 15Ah · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Portola 02 Lite 10Ah · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Portola 02 Lite 15Ah · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Revv1 EVO · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Roadster v3 Rigid · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Roadster v3 Suspension · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up TrailRush · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Vorsa · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Vorsa FT · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Vorsa Lite · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Schwinn High Timber Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Schwinn Hurricane 20in Compact · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Schwinn Parkwood Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Schwinn Regent Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Schwinn Tornado Compact · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 17.5 mph
- Schwinn Twister Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 17.5 mph
- Specialized Turbo Como 4.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Como 4.0 IGH · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Como 5.0 IGH · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Kenevo SL 2 Comp · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Kenevo SL 2 Expert · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Kenevo SL 2 Ohlins Coil · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 4.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 4.0 Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 5.0 IGH · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 5.0 IGH Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 5.0 Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 EVO 4.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 EVO 5.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 EVO 6.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 X 4.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 X 6.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 4.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 4.0 EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 4.0 Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 4.0 Step-Through EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 5.0 EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 5.0 Step-Through EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 6.0 Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 6.0 EQ Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 4.0 EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 4.0 Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 4.0 Step-Through EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Super73 B1G Core · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 B1G SE · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 M1D Core · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 M1D SE · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 MZFT Core · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 MZFT SE · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 R Brooklyn · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 S2 Laguna (Core) · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 S2 SE · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 ZX Core · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 ZX SE · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Trek Borrego+ (Class 2) · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Trek Borrego+ S · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek Charter+ 4S Lowstep · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Charter+ 4S Step-over · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Charter+ 5S · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Domane+ SL Gen 5 SL 6 AXS · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Domane+ SL Gen 5 SL 7 AXS · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Domane+ SL Gen 5 SL 9 AXS · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Electra Ponto Go! Ponto Go! (Class 2) · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Trek Electra Ponto Go! Ponto Go! S · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 26 mph
- Trek Electra Townie Go! · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Trek Electra Townie Go! S · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek Fetch+ 4 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.7 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.8 Eagle 90 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.8 XT · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.8 XT Di2 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.9 X0 AXS · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek FX+ 1S Midstep · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 1S Step-over · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 2S Midstep · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 2S Step-over · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 7S Midstep · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 7S Step-over · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Rail+ 8 Gen 5 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Verve+ 3 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Verve+ 4S · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Urtopia Carbon 1 Pro · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Atom · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Classic Step-over · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Classic Step-Thru · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Fold Step-Thru · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Fusion Pro · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Joy · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Breeze 1 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Discover 2 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Discover 3 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric Discover M · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Fold 1 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Fold 1 Plus · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric GoMad · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Nomad 2 High-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Nomad 2 Step-Thru · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Nomad 2X High-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric Nomad 2X Step-Thru · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric Summit 1 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Summit 2 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric T1 ST Plus · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Velotric Tempo High-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric Tempo Mid-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
Every rule, with its source
- License
- motorized tricycle To ride a motorized tricycle (which is how RI law classes an e-trike) on a public road you need a valid driver's license and must be at least 16. R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-19.2-1 ↗
- Registration
- motorized tricycle Motorized tricycles must be registered with the DMV, even if ridden only on private property. R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-3-2.2(a) ↗
- Two-wheel electric bicycles (Class 1/2/3) need no registration, and they are not motor vehicles, so no driver's license is required. R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-3-2.2(a); § 31-1-3(u) ↗
- Helmet
- E-bike riders and passengers under 21 must wear a CPSC-standard helmet; there is no helmet requirement for adults 21 and over. R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-19.7-3 ↗
- Minimum age
- No one under 16 may operate an electric bicycle (any class) in Rhode Island. R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-3-2.2(a) ↗
- Where you can ride
- E-bike riders have the same rights and duties as other drivers on the road, and may ride on road shoulders except where bicycles are prohibited. R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-19-3 ↗
- motorized tricycle Motorized tricycles may not be ridden on interstate highways. R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-19.2-2 ↗
- Sidewalks
- State law allows human-powered vehicles on sidewalks unless signs prohibit them, but it does not mention e-bikes, and e-bikes are expressly banned from sidewalks and crosswalks in New Shoreham (Block Island). R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-19-11; § 31-19-12 ↗
- Bike paths and trails
- Class 1 Class 1 e-bikes are allowed on state bicycle trails and paths; the definition lists no other e-bike class. R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-1-23(c); § 31-19.7-2 ↗
- State parks
- Class 1 On DEM-managed bike paths only Class 1 is allowed, and multi-class e-bikes must be locked in Class 1 mode. 250-RICR-100-00-7.9(E)(1)-(2) (eff. 5-12-2025) ↗
- Class 2 Class 2 and Class 3 e-bikes are banned on all DEM properties, trails and paths except park roadways, unless DEM gives written permission. 250-RICR-100-00-7.9(E)(3) ↗
- motorized tricycle In state parks and management areas, motor vehicles (which includes motorized tricycles) must be street-registered, driven by a licensed driver, and kept to designated areas. 250-RICR-100-00-7 (motor vehicles provision) ↗
- Passengers
- You may not carry more people than the bike is designed for (a child 6 or under may ride in an approved rear carrier or trailer). R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-19-4 ↗
- Also good to know
- disabled riders People with disabilities may use EPAMDs, motorized wheelchairs, or similar electric devices on DEM properties. 250-RICR-100-00-7.9(F)(2) ↗
- At night bicycles need a white front lamp visible for 500 feet, a red rear reflector, pedal reflectors and side reflectors, plus brakes that stop within 25 feet at 10 mph. R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-19-10 ↗
- Rhode Island's DUI law covers operating 'any vehicle', so it likely covers e-bikes and e-trikes. R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-27-2(a) ↗
What's new, and what cities add
- DEM rule amendment, 250-RICR-100-00-7 enacted · effective 2025-05-12 DEM parks rule now allows Class 1 e-bikes on DEM bike paths (multi-class bikes locked to Class 1) and bars Class 2/3 from DEM properties except park roads unless DEM gives written permission. Source ↗
- H 5076 (FY2026 budget) enacted · effective FY2026 (July 1, 2025) Appropriation language provided $250,000 for the Office of Energy Resources electric bicycle rebate program (appears in the Governor's budget bill; final enacted budget not separately checked). No change to riding rules. Source ↗
- New Shoreham (Block Island): E-bikes are banned by state law from sidewalks and crosswalks here, and the town licenses rentals of motorized bicycles, motor scooters and motorized tricycles (R.I. Gen. Laws ch. 31-19.3). Source ↗
What we couldn't confirm from official sources (5)
- How the RI DMV actually handles pedal e-trikes (whether it registers them as motorized tricycles, what plate or insurance it requires) was not confirmed. No DMV guidance page located.
- That a registered motorized tricycle needs liability insurance is inferred from registration and RI's compulsory insurance law (ch. 31-47); the exact section was not verified.
- Whether a motorized tricycle rider must wear a helmet (the e-bike under-21 rule covers only 'electric bicycles') was not verified.
- Whether the enacted FY2026 budget kept the $250,000 e-bike rebate appropriation was not checked against the final enacted budget.
- RI DEM and RI Parks web pages (dem.ri.gov, riparks.ri.gov) block automated access; the rule was read from the Secretary of State RICR site instead.
This page explains the law in plain language. It is not legal advice. Cities, counties and park agencies can add their own rules; check posted signs and confirm with your state before you ride.