Louisiana e-bike and e-trike laws
Yes: Louisiana's e-bike law expressly covers three-wheelers (at least one wheel 20 inches or bigger), so a pedal e-trike with a motor under 750 watts needs no license, plate or insurance. Ride it anywhere bicycles go, including bike lanes and most paths, unless a sign or local rule says otherwise. On a 28-mph Class 3 trike, everyone must wear a helmet.
- License
- No driver's license, registration or insurance is needed for an e-bike: the law excludes it from the definition of motor vehicle and treats it like a bicycle.
- Helmet
- Parents may not let a child under 12 ride or be a passenger on a bicycle without a helmet; note this section defines 'bicycle' as two tandem wheels, so it may not reach trikes.
- Minimum age
- You must be at least 12 to operate a Class 3 e-bike; younger children may ride as passengers on one built for passengers. No state minimum age for Class 1 or 2. (Class 3)
- Where you can ride
- You may ride an e-bike anywhere bicycles are allowed, including streets, highways, bike lanes, shared-use trails and bike paths, and bicycles may use the road shoulder.
- Sidewalks
- No statewide rule on riding e-bikes on sidewalks was found in the bicycle statutes; check local ordinances. (Motorized bicycles, by contrast, are banned from sidewalks.)
Does an e-trike count as an e-bike?
“having two tandem wheels, either of which is sixteen inches or more in diameter, or three wheels, any one of which is twenty inches or more in diameter”La. R.S. 32:1(25) ↗
The e-bike classes
How the trikes we list are treated in Louisiana
70 of the 191 trikes we list fit Louisiana's e-bike rules on their published figures. 88 need checking before you buy, and 33 don't publish enough to tell. We check motor power, top speed, wheel size and the stated class. Not legal advice.
- Actbest TrikerCheck before buyingNo wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Actbest Triker
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Arisetan II M-360
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 MiniCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit; no wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 Mini
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 750WCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Citytan M-315 750W
- Addmotor Citytri E-310Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Citytri E-310
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 PlusCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Citytri E-310 Plus
- Addmotor E-325 Family Cargo TrikeCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor E-325 Family Cargo Trike
- Addmotor Freetan M-368XCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Freetan M-368X
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Grandtan M-340
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 PlusCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Grandtan M-340 Plus
- Addmotor Grandtan TurboCheck before buying1000W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Grandtan Turbo
- Addmotor Grandtan XCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Grandtan X
- Addmotor Greattan L Dual batteryCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Greattan L Dual battery
- Addmotor Greattan L Single batteryCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Greattan L Single battery
- Addmotor Landtan M-300Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Landtan M-300
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Dual batteryCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor M-380 Tandem Dual battery
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Single batteryCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor M-380 Tandem Single battery
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366XCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Soletri II M-366X
- Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Soletri II M-366X Herotri II M-365X (high-step)
- Addmotor SpytanXCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit; no wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Addmotor SpytanX
- Addmotor Triketan M-330Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Triketan M-330
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 MiniCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Triketan M-330 Mini
- Addmotor Triketan M-330FCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Triketan M-330F
- Addmotor U-Trike U-710Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor U-Trike U-710
- Addmotor U-Trike U-750Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Addmotor U-Trike U-750
- Aipas A8 Max Trekker EtrikeCheck before buying1300W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Aipas A8 Max Trekker Etrike
- CroSight T3 Classic 750WCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Classic 750W
- CroSight T3 ProCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Pro
- Cybervelo C16Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Cybervelo C16
- Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ecotric 48V Fat Tire Electric Tricycle (24x4 front / 20x4 rear)
- Emojo Bison ProCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Emojo Bison Pro
- Emojo Bison Pro Urban CruiserCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Emojo Bison Pro Urban Cruiser
- Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Dual Battery
- Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Single Battery
- Emojo Dexter Jr.Check before buyingNo wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Emojo Dexter Jr.
- ENVO Veemo SECheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: ENVO Veemo SE
- Eskute T300Check before buyingNo wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Eskute T300
- Eunorau T1 Recumbent TrikeCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Eunorau T1 Recumbent Trike
- isinwheel Ucargo Electric TricycleCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: isinwheel Ucargo Electric Tricycle
- Jasion JT18 eTrikeCheck before buyingNo wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Jasion JT18 eTrike
- Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: KAKIGO Electric Tricycle 750W 20x4 Fat Tire (single seat)
- Lectric XP Trike2 750 Long-RangeCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Lectric XP Trike2 750 Long-Range
- Liberty Trike Freedom 16"Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit; no wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Liberty Trike Freedom 16"
- Liberty Trike Freedom 20"Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Liberty Trike Freedom 20"
- Maxfoot MF-30Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Maxfoot MF-30
- Maxfoot MF-31 MaxZ 20in Fat TireCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Maxfoot MF-31 MaxZ 20in Fat Tire
- Maxfoot MF-32 MaxZ 24in Fat TireCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Maxfoot MF-32 MaxZ 24in Fat Tire
- Maxfoot MF-33 PassengerCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Maxfoot MF-33 Passenger
- Meet One Breeze 2.0Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit; no wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Meet One Breeze 2.0
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Dual 20Ah + 20AhCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit; no wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Dual 20Ah + 20Ah
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Single 20AhCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit; no wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Single 20Ah
- Meet One Pair (Passenger)Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit; no wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Meet One Pair (Passenger)
- Meet One Tour 2.0Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Meet One Tour 2.0
- Meet One Tour Lite 2.0Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Meet One Tour Lite 2.0
- Mooncool TK ProCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mooncool TK Pro
- Mooncool TK2 ProCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mooncool TK2 Pro
- NARRAK N3Check before buyingNo wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: NARRAK N3
- NARRAK N6Check before buyingNo wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: NARRAK N6
- NARRAK N8Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: NARRAK N8
- NARRAK S180Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: NARRAK S180
- Pedego Fat Tire TrikeCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Pedego Fat Tire Trike
- Puckipuppy AlaskanCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy Alaskan
- Puckipuppy HuskyCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy Husky
- Puckipuppy Husky PlusCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy Husky Plus
- Puckipuppy RottweilerCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy Rottweiler
- Rungu Dualie RuggedCheck before buying1000W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Rugged
- Rungu Dualie StandardCheck before buying1000W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Standard
- Rungu Dualie SteepCheck before buying1000W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Steep
- Sixthreezero Easy TransitCheck before buyingNo wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Sixthreezero Easy Transit
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Electric Trike Tandem 750WCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Electric Trike Tandem 750W
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000WCheck before buying1000W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000W
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Recumbent Rickshaw 750WCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Recumbent Rickshaw 750W
- Sixthreezero Relaxed Body 750W Electric TricycleCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Sixthreezero Relaxed Body 750W Electric Tricycle
- Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Sixthreezero Simple Glide Fat Tire 750W Recumbent E Trike w/ Footrest
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Laid Back 750W Recumbent ETrikeCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit; no wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Sixthreezero Simple Glide Laid Back 750W Recumbent ETrike
- Sixthreezero Simple Step Thru Fat Tire Electric TrikeCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Sixthreezero Simple Step Thru Fat Tire Electric Trike
- Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Skeri Fat Tire Electric Tricycle 750W (1350W peak)
- Tiniover Creek (Passenger)Check before buyingNo wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Tiniover Creek (Passenger)
- Tiniover Creek Pro (Passenger)Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit; no wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Tiniover Creek Pro (Passenger)
- Tiniover River Full SuspensionCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Tiniover River Full Suspension
- Velotric TrikerCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric Triker
- Check before buyingNo wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Viribus 16 inch Folding Electric Tricycle
- Viribus FC1 FoldingCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Viribus FC1 Folding
- Viribus FC2 FoldingCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit; no wheel of 20″ or more; Louisiana counts a trike only if one wheel is.Model page: Viribus FC2 Folding
- Viribus ST1 FoldingCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Viribus ST1 Folding
- Worksman Mover E-M2020-3CB LightningCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Worksman Mover E-M2020-3CB Lightning
- Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning ElectricCheck before buying800W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning Electric
- Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Worksman Side-by-Side Electric Lightning SBST-3CB-HB
Show the 70 that fit the rules
- Actbest Triker Plus · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 500W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Freetri E-361 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The K9 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Original 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Preschool 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Buzz Cerana T2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Catrike 5.5.9 eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike All Road eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Dumont eCAT · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Catrike Expedition eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike MAX eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Pocket eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Trail eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Villager eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Christiania Classic Straight Cargo Trike (Mid Drive) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Christiania Model T Taxi & Trishaw Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- CroSight T3 Classic 650W · E-bike (class not stated), 22 mph
- Emojo Bull · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Caddy Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Eskute T300 Max · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Eunorau NEW-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau ONE-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Evelo Compass · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- HP Velotechnik Scorpion fs 26 S-Pedelec · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- ICE Adventure (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- ICE Full Fat (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 500W (base) · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Mokwheel Granite · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mooncool FT1 Fat Tire Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Nakto S03 · E-bike (class not stated), 12 mph
- Pedego Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Retrospec Boca Rev 2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 1000W mid-drive · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 750W (2026, hitch) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw Dual 750W, dual battery (42Ah) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Fat Tire Reverse E Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sun Bicycles E350-B1 Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 10 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Delta B1 SX Electric Delta · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Eco Tad B1 SX Electric Tadpole · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- TerraTrike All Terrain e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Gran Tourismo e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike GTS e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rambler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rebel e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rogue e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rover Tandem e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Spyder e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Tandem Pro Charge · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- TerraTrike Traveler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) E-Trike Li 24in · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) Elek-Trike 24in · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider Compact+ · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Sport · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Maxi · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 250W · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12.4 mph
- Viribus TG1 350W upgrade · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- VIVI T01 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Worksman E-PALR-3CB Personal Activity Low Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman PAV3-3CB Lightning Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
How the e-bikes we list are treated in Louisiana
119 of the 268 two-wheel e-bikes we list fit Louisiana's e-bike rules on their published figures. 122 need checking before you buy, and 27 don't publish enough to tell. Not legal advice.
- Ariel Rider Grizzly 72VCheck before buying3000W motor is over the under-750W limit; 60 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Ariel Rider Grizzly 72V
- Ariel Rider Kepler High-StepCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ariel Rider Kepler High-Step
- Ariel Rider Kepler Step-ThruCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ariel Rider Kepler Step-Thru
- Ariel Rider MUDD 72VCheck before buying3500W motor is over the under-750W limit; 65 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Ariel Rider MUDD 72V
- Ariel Rider X-Class 60V Off-RoadCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ariel Rider X-Class 60V Off-Road
- Ariel Rider X-Class 60V PerformanceCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ariel Rider X-Class 60V Performance
- Ariel Rider X-Class 60V PPBCheck before buying1500W motor is over the under-750W limit; 40 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Ariel Rider X-Class 60V PPB
- Aventon Abound LRCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Aventon Abound LR
- Aventon Abound SRCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Aventon Abound SR
- Aventon Aventure 3 Step-OverCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Aventon Aventure 3 Step-Over
- Aventon Aventure 3 Step-ThroughCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Aventon Aventure 3 Step-Through
- Aventon Level 4 REC Step-OverCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Aventon Level 4 REC Step-Over
- Aventon Level 4 REC Step-ThroughCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Aventon Level 4 REC Step-Through
- Aventon Pace 5 RECCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Aventon Pace 5 REC
- Heybike ALPHACheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Heybike ALPHA
- Heybike HybridCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Heybike Hybrid
- Heybike Mars 2.5Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Heybike Mars 2.5
- Heybike Mars 3.0Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Heybike Mars 3.0
- Heybike Ranger 3.0 ProCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro
- Heybike Ranger S 2.0Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Heybike Ranger S 2.0
- Heybike Saturn Dual BatteryCheck before buying1000W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Heybike Saturn Dual Battery
- Heybike Saturn Single BatteryCheck before buying1000W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Heybike Saturn Single Battery
- Heybike Titan Dual BatteryCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Heybike Titan Dual Battery
- Heybike Titan Single BatteryCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Heybike Titan Single Battery
- Heybike VenusCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Heybike Venus
- Himiway A7 RegularCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Himiway A7 Regular
- Himiway C3Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Himiway C3
- Himiway D5 2.0 20"Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Himiway D5 2.0 20"
- Himiway D5 2.0 26" High-StepCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Himiway D5 2.0 26" High-Step
- Himiway D5 2.0 26" STCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Himiway D5 2.0 26" ST
- Himiway D5 2.0 CamoCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Himiway D5 2.0 Camo
- Himiway D7Check before buying1000W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Himiway D7
- Himiway D7 ProCheck before buying1000W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Himiway D7 Pro
- Jasion Hunter ProCheck before buying1000W motor is over the under-750W limit; 30 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion Hunter Pro
- Jasion KagoCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Jasion Kago
- Jasion RetroVolt MaxCheck before buying35 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion RetroVolt Max
- Jasion RetroVolt ProCheck before buying38 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion RetroVolt Pro
- Jasion Thunder Pro STCheck before buying1200W motor is over the under-750W limit; 35 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion Thunder Pro ST
- Jasion X-HunterCheck before buying30 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion X-Hunter
- Lectric XP4 750 Step-OverCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Lectric XP4 750 Step-Over
- Lectric XP4 750 Step-ThruCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Lectric XP4 750 Step-Thru
- Lectric XPeak2 High-StepCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Lectric XPeak2 High-Step
- Lectric XPeak2 High-Step Long-RangeCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Lectric XPeak2 High-Step Long-Range
- Lectric XPeak2 Step-ThruCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru
- Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru Long-RangeCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru Long-Range
- Lectric XPedition2 Dual-BatteryCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Lectric XPedition2 Dual-Battery
- Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Lectric XPedition2 Long-Range Dual-Battery
- Lectric XPedition2 Single BatteryCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Lectric XPedition2 Single Battery
- Lectric XPress2 High-Step (Commuter)Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Lectric XPress2 High-Step (Commuter)
- Lectric XPress2 Step-Thru (Cruiser)Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Lectric XPress2 Step-Thru (Cruiser)
- Macfox X2 ProCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Macfox X2 Pro
- Macfox X2 Pro Dual BatteryCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Macfox X2 Pro Dual Battery
- Mokwheel Asphalt Step-OverCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Asphalt Step-Over
- Mokwheel Asphalt Step-ThroughCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Asphalt Step-Through
- Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-OverCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Over
- Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Through, LargeCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Through, Large
- Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Through, StandardCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Through, Standard
- Mokwheel ObsidianCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mokwheel Obsidian
- Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 Step-OverCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 Step-Over
- Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 Step-ThroughCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 Step-Through
- Mokwheel Onyx Step-OverCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mokwheel Onyx Step-Over
- Mokwheel Onyx Step-ThroughCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mokwheel Onyx Step-Through
- Mokwheel Scoria 2.0Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mokwheel Scoria 2.0
- Mokwheel SlateCheck before buying25 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Slate
- Mokwheel Tarmac Step-OverCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mokwheel Tarmac Step-Over
- Mokwheel Tarmac Step-ThroughCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mokwheel Tarmac Step-Through
- Mokwheel Tor PlusCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Mokwheel Tor Plus
- Pedego Avenue ProCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Pedego Avenue Pro
- Pedego Element 2Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Pedego Element 2
- Pedego Latch 2Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Pedego Latch 2
- Pedego Ridge Rider 2Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Pedego Ridge Rider 2
- Puckipuppy Boxer ST (step-through)Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy Boxer ST (step-through)
- Puckipuppy Boxer Step-overCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy Boxer Step-over
- Puckipuppy GoldenR ProCheck before buying1100W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy GoldenR Pro
- Puckipuppy Labrador Pro ST (step-through)Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy Labrador Pro ST (step-through)
- Puckipuppy Labrador Pro Step-overCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy Labrador Pro Step-over
- Puckipuppy PoodleCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy Poodle
- Puckipuppy SamoyedCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy Samoyed
- Puckipuppy SchnauzerCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy Schnauzer
- Rad Power Bikes RadExpand 5 PlusCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes RadExpand 5 Plus
- Rad Power Bikes RadRunnerCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes RadRunner
- Rad Power Bikes RadRunner MaxCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes RadRunner Max
- Rad Power Bikes RadRunner PlusCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes RadRunner Plus
- Rad Power Bikes Radster Road LargeCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes Radster Road Large
- Rad Power Bikes Radster Road RegularCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes Radster Road Regular
- Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail LargeCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail Large
- Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail RegularCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail Regular
- Rad Power Bikes RadWagonCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes RadWagon
- Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 5Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 5
- Ride1Up Portola 02 10AhCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ride1Up Portola 02 10Ah
- Ride1Up Portola 02 15AhCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ride1Up Portola 02 15Ah
- Ride1Up Portola 02 Lite 10AhCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ride1Up Portola 02 Lite 10Ah
- Ride1Up Portola 02 Lite 15AhCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ride1Up Portola 02 Lite 15Ah
- Ride1Up Revv1 DRTCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Ride1Up Revv1 DRT
- Ride1Up Revv1 EVOCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ride1Up Revv1 EVO
- Ride1Up Revv1 FSCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Ride1Up Revv1 FS
- Ride1Up Revv1 HTCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Ride1Up Revv1 HT
- Ride1Up VorsaCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ride1Up Vorsa
- Ride1Up Vorsa FTCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ride1Up Vorsa FT
- Ride1Up Vorsa LiteCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Ride1Up Vorsa Lite
- Super73 B1G SECheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Super73 B1G SE
- Super73 M1D SECheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Super73 M1D SE
- Super73 MZFT SECheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Super73 MZFT SE
- Super73 R BrooklynCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Super73 R Brooklyn
- Super73 S2 SECheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Super73 S2 SE
- Trek Borrego+ (Class 2)Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Trek Borrego+ (Class 2)
- Trek Borrego+ SCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Trek Borrego+ S
- Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Trek Electra Ponto Go! Ponto Go! (Class 2)
- Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Trek Electra Ponto Go! Ponto Go! S
- Urtopia Carbon AtomCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Urtopia Carbon Atom
- Velotric Breeze 1Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric Breeze 1
- Velotric Discover 2Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric Discover 2
- Velotric Discover 3Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric Discover 3
- Velotric Fold 1Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric Fold 1
- Velotric Fold 1 PlusCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric Fold 1 Plus
- Velotric GoMadCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric GoMad
- Velotric Nomad 2 High-StepCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric Nomad 2 High-Step
- Velotric Nomad 2 Step-ThruCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric Nomad 2 Step-Thru
- Velotric Nomad 2X High-StepCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric Nomad 2X High-Step
- Velotric Nomad 2X Step-ThruCheck before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric Nomad 2X Step-Thru
- Velotric Summit 1Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric Summit 1
- Velotric Summit 2Check before buying750W motor is over the under-750W limit.Model page: Velotric Summit 2
Show the 119 that fit the rules
- Amflow PL Carbon (800Wh) · E-bike (class not stated), 19.9 mph
- Amflow PL Carbon Pro (800Wh) · E-bike (class not stated), 19.9 mph
- Amflow PR Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 19.9 mph
- Amflow PR Carbon Pro · E-bike (class not stated), 19.9 mph
- Amflow PX Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Amflow PX Carbon Pro · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Amflow TL Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Aventon Aventure M · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Current ADV · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, Within the published limits
- Aventon Current EXP · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, Within the published limits
- Aventon Level 4 ADV Step-Over · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Aventon Level 4 ADV Step-Through · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Aventon Ramblas ADV · Class 1 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Soltera 2.5 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Aventon Soltera 3 ADV · Class 1 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway A7 Large · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway D5 Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP Lite2 · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP Lite2 JW Black Belt Drive · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP Lite2 JW Black Belt Drive Long-Range · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP4 Step-Over · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XP4 Step-Thru · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Macfox X1S · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X1S Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X7 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X7 Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X7 L · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X7 L Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Mokwheel Flint Pro Step-Over · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Flint Pro Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Flint Step-Over · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Flint Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Pedego Avenue Core · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Boomerang Core · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Boomerang Pro · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Element Core · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Element Pro · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Elevate · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Pedego Interceptor · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Interceptor Platinum Edition · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Latch · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Trail Tracker · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up CF Racer1 · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Roadster v3 Rigid · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Roadster v3 Suspension · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up TrailRush · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Schwinn High Timber Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Schwinn Hurricane 20in Compact · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Schwinn Parkwood Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Schwinn Regent Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Schwinn Tornado Compact · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 17.5 mph
- Schwinn Twister Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 17.5 mph
- Specialized Turbo Como 4.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Como 4.0 IGH · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Como 5.0 IGH · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Kenevo SL 2 Comp · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Kenevo SL 2 Expert · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Kenevo SL 2 Ohlins Coil · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 4.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 4.0 Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 5.0 IGH · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 5.0 IGH Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 5.0 Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 EVO 4.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 EVO 5.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 EVO 6.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 X 4.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 X 6.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 4.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 4.0 EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 4.0 Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 4.0 Step-Through EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 5.0 EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 5.0 Step-Through EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 6.0 Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 6.0 EQ Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 4.0 EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 4.0 Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 4.0 Step-Through EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Super73 B1G Core · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 M1D Core · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 MZFT Core · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 S2 Laguna (Core) · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 ZX Core · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 ZX SE · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Trek Charter+ 4S Lowstep · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Charter+ 4S Step-over · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Charter+ 5S · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Domane+ SL Gen 5 SL 6 AXS · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Domane+ SL Gen 5 SL 7 AXS · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Domane+ SL Gen 5 SL 9 AXS · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Electra Townie Go! · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Trek Electra Townie Go! S · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek Fetch+ 4 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.7 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.8 Eagle 90 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.8 XT · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.8 XT Di2 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.9 X0 AXS · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek FX+ 1S Midstep · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 1S Step-over · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 2S Midstep · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 2S Step-over · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 7S Midstep · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 7S Step-over · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Rail+ 8 Gen 5 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Verve+ 3 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Verve+ 4S · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Urtopia Carbon 1 Pro · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Classic Step-over · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Classic Step-Thru · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Fold Step-Thru · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Fusion Pro · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Joy · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Discover M · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric T1 ST Plus · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Velotric Tempo High-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric Tempo Mid-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
Every rule, with its source
- License
- No driver's license, registration or insurance is needed for an e-bike: the law excludes it from the definition of motor vehicle and treats it like a bicycle. La. R.S. 32:1(50); 32:204(A) ↗
- Helmet
- Class 3 Every operator and passenger on a Class 3 e-bike, of any age, must wear an approved bicycle helmet ($50 fine, waived if you show you bought a helmet). No helmet rule for adults on Class 1 or 2. La. R.S. 32:204(H) ↗
- Parents may not let a child under 12 ride or be a passenger on a bicycle without a helmet; note this section defines 'bicycle' as two tandem wheels, so it may not reach trikes. La. R.S. 32:199(A)(2), (B)(1) ↗
- Minimum age
- Class 3 You must be at least 12 to operate a Class 3 e-bike; younger children may ride as passengers on one built for passengers. No state minimum age for Class 1 or 2. La. R.S. 32:204(G) ↗
- Where you can ride
- You may ride an e-bike anywhere bicycles are allowed, including streets, highways, bike lanes, shared-use trails and bike paths, and bicycles may use the road shoulder. La. R.S. 32:204(F); 32:197(D) ↗
- Sidewalks
- No statewide rule on riding e-bikes on sidewalks was found in the bicycle statutes; check local ordinances. (Motorized bicycles, by contrast, are banned from sidewalks.) La. R.S. 32:193-204 (no sidewalk provision for bicycles); 32:198 ↗
- Bike paths and trails
- Class 1 A city, parish or state agency may ban Class 1 and 2 e-bikes on a shared-use trail or bike path only after notice and a public hearing, and only for safety or legal-compliance reasons. La. R.S. 32:204(F)(1) ↗
- Class 3 The agency in charge of a shared-use trail or bike path may ban Class 3 e-bikes without a hearing. La. R.S. 32:204(F)(2) ↗
- On natural-surface (dirt) nonmotorized trails, the managing agency sets its own e-bike rules. La. R.S. 32:204(F)(3) ↗
- Passengers
- You may not carry more people than the bike is designed and equipped for. La. R.S. 32:195(B) ↗
- Labels
- Manufacturers must permanently label the class, top assisted speed and motor wattage; if you modify the bike's class you must replace the label. La. R.S. 32:204(B)-(C) ↗
- Also good to know
- Class 3 Class 3 e-bikes must have a speedometer showing miles per hour. La. R.S. 32:204(I) ↗
What's new, and what cities add
- Acts 2025, No. 107 and No. 281 enacted · effective 2025 (dates not confirmed) Both 2025 Acts amended the La. R.S. 32:1 definitions section; the e-bike definition text reviewed here is current as of those amendments, but what these Acts specifically changed was not reviewed (the e-bike provisions themselves date from Acts 2020, No. 152). Source ↗
What we couldn't confirm from official sources (4)
- The contents of Acts 2025, No. 107 and No. 281 (both amend R.S. 32:1) were not reviewed. No 2026 Regular Session e-bike bill could be checked because the Legislature's bill search could not be queried automatically.
- Whether a 'motorized bicycle' (moped) must be registered and insured in Louisiana was not confirmed.
- Louisiana State Parks (Office of State Parks) e-bike rules were not reviewed.
- Local sidewalk bans (e.g., New Orleans) were not reviewed.
This page explains the law in plain language. It is not legal advice. Cities, counties and park agencies can add their own rules; check posted signs and confirm with your state before you ride.