Delaware e-bike and e-trike laws
Yes. Delaware's law defines an e-bike as having 2 or 3 wheels, so a pedal e-trike with a motor of 750 watts or less needs no license, plate or insurance. Ride it on roads, bike lanes and most bike or multi-use paths, but not on sidewalks with the motor on. Riders under 18 must wear a helmet, and everyone must wear one on a 28-mph Class 3.
- License
- No driver's license, registration, title, plate or insurance is needed for any class of e-bike.
- Registration
- E-bikes are excluded from the definition of motor vehicle and need no registration, title or plate.
- Insurance
- No insurance is required for an e-bike.
- Helmet
- Anyone under 18 must wear a bicycle helmet on any bicycle (e-bikes get the same duties as bicycles); adults on Class 1 or 2 are not required to.
- Minimum age
- You must be 16 or older to operate a Class 3 e-bike; younger people may ride as passengers on one built for passengers. No state minimum age for Class 1 or 2. (Class 3)
- Where you can ride
- E-bikes may be ridden anywhere bicycles are allowed: streets, highways, shoulders, bike lanes, bikeways and bicycle or multi-use paths, subject to the exceptions below.
- Sidewalks
- You may not ride on a sidewalk using the electric motor, even where bicycles are allowed on that sidewalk.
Does an e-trike count as an e-bike?
““Electric bicycle” means a bicycle with 2 or 3 wheels that is equipped with fully-operable pedals, a saddle or seat for the rider, and an electric motor of less than or equal to 750 watts”21 Del. C. § 101(18) ↗
The e-bike classes
How the trikes we list are treated in Delaware
140 of the 191 trikes we list fit Delaware's e-bike rules on their published figures. 7 need checking before you buy, and 44 don't publish enough to tell. We check motor power, top speed and the stated class. Not legal advice.
- Addmotor Grandtan TurboCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Grandtan Turbo
- Aipas A8 Max Trekker EtrikeCheck before buying1300W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Aipas A8 Max Trekker Etrike
- Rungu Dualie RuggedCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Rugged
- Rungu Dualie StandardCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Standard
- Rungu Dualie SteepCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Steep
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000WCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000W
- Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning ElectricCheck before buying800W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning Electric
Show the 140 that fit the rules
- Actbest Triker · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Actbest Triker Plus · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 Mini · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 500W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor E-325 Family Cargo Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Addmotor Freetan M-368X · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Freetri E-361 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan X · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Greattan L Dual battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Greattan L Single battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Landtan M-300 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Dual battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Single battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366X · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366X Herotri II M-365X (high-step) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Addmotor SpytanX · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 Mini · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330F · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor U-Trike U-710 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor U-Trike U-750 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The K9 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Original 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Preschool 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Buzz Cerana T2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Catrike 5.5.9 eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike All Road eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Dumont eCAT · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Catrike Expedition eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike MAX eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Pocket eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Trail eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Villager eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Christiania Classic Straight Cargo Trike (Mid Drive) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Christiania Model T Taxi & Trishaw Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- CroSight T3 Classic 650W · E-bike (class not stated), 22 mph
- CroSight T3 Classic 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 22 mph
- CroSight T3 Pro · E-bike (class not stated), 22 mph
- Emojo Bison Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Bull · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Caddy Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Jr. · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- ENVO Veemo SE · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Eskute T300 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Max · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Eunorau NEW-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau ONE-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau T1 Recumbent Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Evelo Compass · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- HP Velotechnik Scorpion fs 26 S-Pedelec · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- ICE Adventure (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- ICE Full Fat (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Jasion JT18 eTrike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 500W (base) · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 750 Long-Range · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 17 mph
- Liberty Trike Freedom 16" · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12 mph
- Liberty Trike Freedom 20" · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Meet One Breeze 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Dual 20Ah + 20Ah · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Single 20Ah · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Pair (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Tour 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 25 mph
- Meet One Tour Lite 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Granite · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mooncool FT1 Fat Tire Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Nakto S03 · E-bike (class not stated), 12 mph
- NARRAK N3 · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- NARRAK N6 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- NARRAK N8 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- NARRAK S180 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Pedego Fat Tire Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Pedego Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Puckipuppy Alaskan · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Husky · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Husky Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Rottweiler · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Retrospec Boca Rev 2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Electric Trike Tandem 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Recumbent Rickshaw 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 1000W mid-drive · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 750W (2026, hitch) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw Dual 750W, dual battery (42Ah) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Fat Tire Reverse E Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Relaxed Body 750W Electric Tricycle · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Fat Tire 750W Recumbent E Trike w/ Footrest · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Laid Back 750W Recumbent ETrike · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Step Thru Fat Tire Electric Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sun Bicycles E350-B1 Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 10 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Delta B1 SX Electric Delta · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Eco Tad B1 SX Electric Tadpole · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- TerraTrike All Terrain e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Gran Tourismo e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike GTS e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rambler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rebel e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rogue e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rover Tandem e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Spyder e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Tandem Pro Charge · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- TerraTrike Traveler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Tiniover Creek (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tiniover Creek Pro (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Tiniover River Full Suspension · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) E-Trike Li 24in · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) Elek-Trike 24in · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider Compact+ · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Sport · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Maxi · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Velotric Triker · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 12 mph
- Viribus 16 inch Folding Electric Tricycle · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 9 mph
- Viribus FC1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus FC2 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus ST1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus TG1 250W · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12.4 mph
- Viribus TG1 350W upgrade · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- VIVI T01 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Worksman E-PALR-3CB Personal Activity Low Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman Mover E-M2020-3CB Lightning · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman PAV3-3CB Lightning Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman Side-by-Side Electric Lightning SBST-3CB-HB · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
How the e-bikes we list are treated in Delaware
200 of the 268 two-wheel e-bikes we list fit Delaware's e-bike rules on their published figures. 40 need checking before you buy, and 28 don't publish enough to tell. Not legal advice.
- Ariel Rider Grizzly 72VCheck before buying3000W motor is over the 750W limit; 60 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Ariel Rider Grizzly 72V
- Ariel Rider MUDD 72VCheck before buying3500W motor is over the 750W limit; 65 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Ariel Rider MUDD 72V
- Ariel Rider X-Class 60V PPBCheck before buying1500W motor is over the 750W limit; 40 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Ariel Rider X-Class 60V PPB
- Aventon Pace 5 RECCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Aventon Pace 5 REC
- Heybike ALPHACheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Heybike ALPHA
- Heybike Mars 3.0Check before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Heybike Mars 3.0
- Heybike Saturn Dual BatteryCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Heybike Saturn Dual Battery
- Heybike Saturn Single BatteryCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Heybike Saturn Single Battery
- Himiway D7Check before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Himiway D7
- Himiway D7 ProCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Himiway D7 Pro
- Jasion Hunter ProCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit; 30 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion Hunter Pro
- Jasion KagoCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Jasion Kago
- Jasion RetroVolt MaxCheck before buying35 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion RetroVolt Max
- Jasion RetroVolt ProCheck before buying38 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion RetroVolt Pro
- Jasion Thunder Pro STCheck before buying1200W motor is over the 750W limit; 35 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion Thunder Pro ST
- Jasion X-HunterCheck before buying30 mph is over the 28 mph limit.Model page: Jasion X-Hunter
- Mokwheel Asphalt Step-OverCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Asphalt Step-Over
- Mokwheel Asphalt Step-ThroughCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Asphalt Step-Through
- Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-OverCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Over
- Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Through, LargeCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Through, Large
- Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Through, StandardCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 Step-Through, Standard
- Mokwheel ObsidianCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Obsidian
- Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 Step-OverCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 Step-Over
- Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 Step-ThroughCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 Step-Through
- Mokwheel Onyx Step-OverCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Onyx Step-Over
- Mokwheel Onyx Step-ThroughCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Onyx Step-Through
- Mokwheel Scoria 2.0Check before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Scoria 2.0
- Mokwheel SlateCheck before buying25 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Slate
- Mokwheel Tarmac Step-OverCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Tarmac Step-Over
- Mokwheel Tarmac Step-ThroughCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Tarmac Step-Through
- Mokwheel Tor PlusCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Mokwheel Tor Plus
- Puckipuppy GoldenR ProCheck before buying1100W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Puckipuppy GoldenR Pro
- Rad Power Bikes Radster Road LargeCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes Radster Road Large
- Rad Power Bikes Radster Road RegularCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes Radster Road Regular
- Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail LargeCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail Large
- Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail RegularCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail Regular
- Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 5Check before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 5
- Ride1Up Revv1 DRTCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Ride1Up Revv1 DRT
- Ride1Up Revv1 FSCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Ride1Up Revv1 FS
- Ride1Up Revv1 HTCheck before buying28 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Ride1Up Revv1 HT
Show the 200 that fit the rules
- Amflow PL Carbon (800Wh) · E-bike (class not stated), 19.9 mph
- Amflow PL Carbon Pro (800Wh) · E-bike (class not stated), 19.9 mph
- Amflow PR Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 19.9 mph
- Amflow PR Carbon Pro · E-bike (class not stated), 19.9 mph
- Amflow PX Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Amflow PX Carbon Pro · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Amflow TL Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Ariel Rider Kepler High-Step · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Ariel Rider Kepler Step-Thru · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Ariel Rider X-Class 60V Off-Road · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Ariel Rider X-Class 60V Performance · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Aventon Abound LR · Class 2 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Abound SR · Class 2 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Aventure 3 Step-Over · Class 2 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Aventure 3 Step-Through · Class 2 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Aventure M · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Current ADV · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, Within the published limits
- Aventon Current EXP · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, Within the published limits
- Aventon Level 4 ADV Step-Over · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Aventon Level 4 ADV Step-Through · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Aventon Level 4 REC Step-Over · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Level 4 REC Step-Through · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Ramblas ADV · Class 1 e-bike, throttle
- Aventon Soltera 2.5 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Aventon Soltera 3 ADV · Class 1 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Heybike Hybrid · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Heybike Mars 2.5 · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Heybike Ranger S 2.0 · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Heybike Titan Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Heybike Titan Single Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Heybike Venus · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Himiway A7 Large · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway A7 Regular · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway D5 2.0 20" · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway D5 2.0 26" High-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway D5 2.0 26" ST · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway D5 2.0 Camo · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Himiway D5 Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP Lite2 · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP Lite2 JW Black Belt Drive · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP Lite2 JW Black Belt Drive Long-Range · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Lectric XP4 750 Step-Over · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XP4 750 Step-Thru · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XP4 Step-Over · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XP4 Step-Thru · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPeak2 High-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPeak2 High-Step Long-Range · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru Long-Range · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPedition2 Dual-Battery · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPedition2 Long-Range Dual-Battery · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPedition2 Single Battery · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPress2 High-Step (Commuter) · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Lectric XPress2 Step-Thru (Cruiser) · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Macfox X1S · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X1S Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X2 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X2 Pro Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X7 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X7 Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X7 L · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Macfox X7 L Dual Battery · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Mokwheel Flint Pro Step-Over · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Flint Pro Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Flint Step-Over · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Flint Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Pedego Avenue Core · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Avenue Pro · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Boomerang Core · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Boomerang Pro · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Element 2 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Element Core · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Element Pro · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Elevate · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Pedego Interceptor · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Interceptor Platinum Edition · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Latch · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Latch 2 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Ridge Rider 2 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Pedego Trail Tracker · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Puckipuppy Boxer ST (step-through) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Puckipuppy Boxer Step-over · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Puckipuppy Labrador Pro ST (step-through) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Puckipuppy Labrador Pro Step-over · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Puckipuppy Poodle · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Puckipuppy Samoyed · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Puckipuppy Schnauzer · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Rad Power Bikes RadExpand 5 Plus · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Rad Power Bikes RadRunner · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Rad Power Bikes RadRunner Max · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Rad Power Bikes RadRunner Plus · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Rad Power Bikes RadWagon · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Ride1Up CF Racer1 · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Portola 02 10Ah · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Portola 02 15Ah · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Portola 02 Lite 10Ah · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Portola 02 Lite 15Ah · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Revv1 EVO · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Roadster v3 Rigid · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Roadster v3 Suspension · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up TrailRush · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Vorsa · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Vorsa FT · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Ride1Up Vorsa Lite · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Schwinn High Timber Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Schwinn Hurricane 20in Compact · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Schwinn Parkwood Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Schwinn Regent Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Schwinn Tornado Compact · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 17.5 mph
- Schwinn Twister Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 17.5 mph
- Specialized Turbo Como 4.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Como 4.0 IGH · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Como 5.0 IGH · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Kenevo SL 2 Comp · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Kenevo SL 2 Expert · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Kenevo SL 2 Ohlins Coil · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 4.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 4.0 Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 5.0 IGH · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 5.0 IGH Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 2 5.0 Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 EVO 4.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 EVO 5.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 EVO 6.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 X 4.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado 3 X 6.0 · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 4.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 4.0 EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 4.0 Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 4.0 Step-Through EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 5.0 EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 5.0 Step-Through EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 6.0 Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 6.0 EQ Carbon · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 4.0 EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 4.0 Step-Through · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Specialized Turbo Vado SL 4.0 Step-Through EQ · E-bike (class not stated), 28 mph
- Super73 B1G Core · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 B1G SE · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 M1D Core · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 M1D SE · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 MZFT Core · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 MZFT SE · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 R Brooklyn · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 S2 Laguna (Core) · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 S2 SE · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 ZX Core · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Super73 ZX SE · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Trek Borrego+ (Class 2) · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Trek Borrego+ S · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek Charter+ 4S Lowstep · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Charter+ 4S Step-over · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Charter+ 5S · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Domane+ SL Gen 5 SL 6 AXS · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Domane+ SL Gen 5 SL 7 AXS · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Domane+ SL Gen 5 SL 9 AXS · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Electra Ponto Go! Ponto Go! (Class 2) · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Trek Electra Ponto Go! Ponto Go! S · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 26 mph
- Trek Electra Townie Go! · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Trek Electra Townie Go! S · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek Fetch+ 4 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.7 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.8 Eagle 90 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.8 XT · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.8 XT Di2 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Fuel+ EX Gen 2 9.9 X0 AXS · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek FX+ 1S Midstep · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 1S Step-over · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 2S Midstep · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 2S Step-over · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 7S Midstep · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek FX+ 7S Step-over · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Trek Rail+ 8 Gen 5 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Verve+ 3 · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Trek Verve+ 4S · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- Urtopia Carbon 1 Pro · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Atom · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Classic Step-over · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Classic Step-Thru · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Fold Step-Thru · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Fusion Pro · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Urtopia Carbon Joy · Class 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Breeze 1 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Discover 2 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Discover 3 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric Discover M · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Fold 1 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Fold 1 Plus · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric GoMad · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Nomad 2 High-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Nomad 2 Step-Thru · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Nomad 2X High-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric Nomad 2X Step-Thru · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric Summit 1 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Velotric Summit 2 · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric T1 ST Plus · Class 1 or 3 e-bike, 20 mph
- Velotric Tempo High-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
- Velotric Tempo Mid-Step · Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike, throttle, 28 mph
Every rule, with its source
- License
- No driver's license, registration, title, plate or insurance is needed for any class of e-bike. 21 Del. C. § 4198P(b) ↗
- Registration
- E-bikes are excluded from the definition of motor vehicle and need no registration, title or plate. 21 Del. C. § 101(44); § 4198P(b) ↗
- Insurance
- No insurance is required for an e-bike. 21 Del. C. § 4198P(b) ↗
- Helmet
- Class 3 Every rider and passenger of a Class 3 e-bike must wear a bicycle helmet, at any age. 21 Del. C. § 4198P(i) ↗
- Anyone under 18 must wear a bicycle helmet on any bicycle (e-bikes get the same duties as bicycles); adults on Class 1 or 2 are not required to. 21 Del. C. § 4198K(a); § 4198P(a) ↗
- Minimum age
- Class 3 You must be 16 or older to operate a Class 3 e-bike; younger people may ride as passengers on one built for passengers. No state minimum age for Class 1 or 2. 21 Del. C. § 4198P(h) ↗
- Where you can ride
- E-bikes may be ridden anywhere bicycles are allowed: streets, highways, shoulders, bike lanes, bikeways and bicycle or multi-use paths, subject to the exceptions below. 21 Del. C. § 4198P(g) ↗
- Sidewalks
- You may not ride on a sidewalk using the electric motor, even where bicycles are allowed on that sidewalk. 21 Del. C. § 4198P(g)(3) ↗
- Bike paths and trails
- A local authority or state agency can ban e-bikes on a bike or multi-use path only after notice and a public hearing for safety or legal reasons, and can ban them on natural-surface trails designated non-motorized. 21 Del. C. § 4198P(g)(1)-(2) ↗
- Passengers
- Carry no more people than the bike (or trike) is designed for; an adult may carry a child in a backpack or sling. 21 Del. C. § 4194(a); § 4198P(a) ↗
- Labels
- Since Jan 1, 2023 makers must attach a permanent label with class, top assisted speed and motor wattage; you may not modify speed unless you replace the label. 21 Del. C. § 4198P(c)-(d) ↗
- Also good to know
- Class 3 Class 3 e-bikes must have a speedometer showing mph. 21 Del. C. § 4198P(j) ↗
- E-bikes must meet federal CPSC bicycle standards (16 C.F.R. Part 1512). 21 Del. C. § 4198P(e) ↗
- At night you need a white front light visible 500 ft, a red rear reflector and side reflectors or lights, like any bicycle. 21 Del. C. § 4198F; § 4198P(a) ↗
- Riding a bicycle (and so an e-bike) on a highway while impaired is a separate offense with fines of $150+ and possible jail for repeat offenses; it is not entered on your driving record. 21 Del. C. § 4198J; § 4198P(a) ↗
What's new, and what cities add
- HS 1 for HB 439 (153rd GA), 'Truth in E-Bike Marketing Act' pending · effective On signature if signed (no delayed effective date in bill text); not yet law as of 2026-09-28 Bars sellers from marketing electric mopeds/motorcycles as 'e-bikes' or labeling them Class 1-3, requires written disclosure of legal class, wattage and top speed; caps 'moped' at under 2,000 W; bans mopeds and tripeds from bike lanes, sidewalks and pathways closed to motor vehicles; adds e-bikes to state crash reporting. Passed both chambers June 30, 2026; listed as awaiting Governor's action, no Laws of Delaware chapter yet. Source ↗
- HB 114 / 85 Del. Laws c. 161 (and HB 266 / 85 Del. Laws c. 244) enacted · effective Approved 2025-08-21 (c. 244 amendment approved 2026-03-27) Created rules for low-speed (15 mph) motorized scooters modeled on the e-bike section (§ 4198Q). Does not change e-bike or e-trike rules; listed only for context. Source ↗
What we couldn't confirm from official sources (3)
- Delaware State Parks (DNREC) e-bike policy on park trails (which classes, which trails) could not be verified; destateparks.com returned 403 and the 7 DE Admin. Code 9201 page would not load.
- Whether Governor Meyer has signed HS 1 for HB 439 after 2026-06-30; the bill page still showed 'Passed' / ready for Governor with no chapter number.
- Legislature full-text search only surfaced HB 439 for 2025-2026; other pending e-bike bills (if any) could not be ruled out.
This page explains the law in plain language. It is not legal advice. Cities, counties and park agencies can add their own rules; check posted signs and confirm with your state before you ride.